onmywaytoaten

My weightloss journey and my path to being a fit and healthy woman.

Day 1 of my Whole30 Plan

on December 29, 2014

Its 3pm, that time of day when we are usually crashing from our carb loaded breakfast and sugar piled coffee rush.  Today I tried to go cold turkey with the coffee and just not have any since I can’t seem to drink it without artificially flavored creamer and splenda.  Today I tried green tea with no sweetener and it just wasn’t the same.    So today I don’t have that 3pm crash, maybe it’s because I didn’t have my typical carbs for breakfast, or maybe since I eliminated all processed foods I am not crashing.  I know the sugar typically does that on it own for me.

This morning I woke with enthusiasm and optimism.  What I got was a 11am headache due to caffeine withdrawn and I started second guessing my no coffee regime.  So I decided to try Starbuck’s blonde roast coffee “black”, which the Barista claimed tasted good enough to not have any creamer in it, but what about the sweetener?  I sipped on my first taste and wow was there alot of flavor.  I didn’t miss the creamer but the sugar is calling my name.  I declined to give in and continued to sip on it as the temperature cooled down.  “Not bad”, I thought, could this be my answer to the fact I must have creamer and artificial sweetener in my coffee in order to drink it?  I’d like to give it another try to see how I do.  But it did relieve my headache.

Breakfast consisted of 3egg white and 1 egg omelet with green/red and yellow peppers and some mushrooms.  I also included 1 slice of prosciutto ham on top.  Not filling enough but it had to do.  Lunch was a green salad with 3 chicken tenderloins and a balsamic vinegar/olive oil and lemon juice dressing I made up last night.  This was very tasty and I enjoyed the spices I added to the dressing.  I also had an apple with lunch since the Whole30 plan suggests saving the 1st fruit serving with lunch and then another with dinner.  This should help eliminate the craving for sugar early in the day for me.

So far so good.  I’m a bit worried about not having the carbs/proteins in my system prior to my workout.  Since we cannot snack on this plan I am wondering  how I will survive 7 hours no food until I am home from the gym and can get some nourishment in my body.  We will have to see.   The lunch should have been enough to sustain me, so I will maybe try some carb dense veggies with lunch tomorrow to help me through that 3pm craving for something else to eat.  I’m hoping because of only 1 cup of coffee today and no more in the afternoon, I can have a pleasant deep sleep this evening.

This plan is largely about planning and preparation so tonight I plan on having a turkey burger with peppers and onions and 1/2 a sweet potato that I will roast.  It isn’t one of the recipes I have printed from the  book but it follows the guidelines given to me by the plan.  I printed even more recipes that are whole30 approved from http://www.chowstalker.com site and I’m excited about giving them a try.  Here’s to Day 2 tomorrow!!!


Leave a comment